2023 Canterbury Sports Awards Presentation Evening | Major Winners, Special Guests & FULL Photo Gallery

Last night we celebrated the achievements of our school’s sporting groups and individuals at the 2023 Canterbury Sports Awards Presentation Evening.

And a special ‘thank you’ to sporting stars Amy Sommerville and Gabi Simpson, who shared their stories and great sporting advice for our students.

Amy is our Netball Academy Ambassador and has been one of our netball coaches for the last five years.

Gabi is our Canterbury Taipans Netball Team’s all-time favourite Wing Defence (WD), and has been part of the Australian Diamonds Netball Team.

Both have also played for the New South Wales Swifts and Queensland Firebirds professional netball teams.

Most importantly, big congratulations to all our sports award winners including these major award recipients:

Bousen-Gaudin Trophy for Girls Footballer of the Year – Jade Uhlmann

Brent Thomas Volleyball Shield for Boys Volleyballer of the Year – Jeremy Kriletich

Brown Family Shield for Hockey Player of the Year – Eloise Stanley

Chelepy Family Shield for Boys First XI Football Player of the Year – Harrison Franklin

Chess Player of the Year – Bhavya-Ashutosh Vaitha

Daniel Humphreys Shield for Boys Tennis Player of the Year – Rhylee Jackson

Danielle Slater Trophy for Most Valuable Girls Tennis Player – Makayla Lin

Debater of the Year – Marwa Kamali

e-Sports Player of the Year – Alexander Sayers

First XI Cricketer of the Year – Jazz Webb

Haydn Tobin Prize for Rugby Player of the Year – Jack Henry

Josie Steele Trophy for Most Outstanding Female Swimmer – Taylah Smith-Miller

Joyce Law Shield for Basketballer of the Year – Boys: Jack Henry | Girls: Ainslie-Alyssa Iva

McIntosh Volleyball Shield for Girls Volleyballer of the Year – Kaylee Tamala

Netball Player of the Year – Holly Comyns & Tia Crombie

Spiritus Athleticae for Commitment to Athletics – Boys: Jack Addley | Girls: Calise Kypr

Stuart Family Trophy for Most Outstanding Male Swimmer – Riley Burton

Touch Football Player of the Year – Jorja Lockhart

Webb Family Shield – Finn Watt & Eloise Stanley


Junior TAS Player of the Year (Various Sports)

Athletics – Boys: Jesse Pickvance-Hall | Girls: Trinity Francois

Basketball – Boys: Lachlan Egstorf | Girls: Isobel Dillon

Cricket – Lucas King

Cross Country – Emma Blackman & Patrick Marr

Football – Nate Puhakainen & Emma Blackman

Hockey – Elly Barnes

Netball – Isabella Westphal

Rugby – Kyle Budd

Swimming – Ruby Fay & Callum Jenkins


TAS Athlete of the Year (Various Sports)

Years 7-9 – Finn Watt & Calise Kypr
Years 10-12 – Jack Addley & Kaylee Tamala

Cross Country – Eloise Stanley, Max Laker & Emily Webb

Years 7-9 – Taylah Smith-Miller, Darcy Franklin & Rylan Mead
Years 10-12 – Savannah Paniagua & Riley Burton


The FULL photo gallery can be found on our Facebook Page HERE.